Moppet makes an appearance.

I don’t usually take my camera out with me when I am milking. Goats and delicate equipment tend not to mix awfully well. Those of you that keep goats will understand. But something today prompted me to take my (borrowed) camera with me.

My camera broke a while ago and I am currently using one that belongs to my parents, until I can afford to replace my one or find one on Freecycle/ Freegle that needs a home.

So anyway, I tucked it into my pocket, inside its protective case for extra protection, and carried on with my early morning rounds.

On my way back inside the cottage, with a pail full of frothy, creamy milk, I always throw a handful of grain into the pond for Mildred. She is the wild moorhen that has chosen to make a nest here.

You can read more about her nest making and egg laying here and here. She laid 6  eggs in total.

As I walked past  today and scattered her grain for her, she hopped off her nest to hide under the ivy until I had passed, as she always does,  and on doing so she revealed one newly hatched chick!! I have named it Moppet. The photo explains why. I am not sure that you could call it beautiful haha! But what a cutie!

See there was a reason I took my camera today!

It looks like there are only two more eggs left in her nest so maybe she discarded some or a rat took them?

Image

Welcome to the world Moppet and welcome to Riverside.  xxx

If you’d like to  make a donation, no matter how small,  towards my new camera fund, please feel free to do so using the Donate Button.

I love taking photos to share with you all.

Thank you x

~*~*~UPDATE~*~*~

Three chicks now spotted. …and an egg still to hatch!

(Some were hiding in the reeds)

4 comments on “Moppet makes an appearance.

  1. patriciabull says:

    ugly little thing but will turn out beautiful xxxx

  2. Bev Turpin-West says:

    Proof that we should all follow our instincts. Ugly’s cute too!

    • Ma Larkin says:

      Yep..cute indeed.I have seen 5 little ‘ugly’ chicks now..the others were hiding in the reeds, so we have a proper moorhen family settled here at Riverside 🙂

Leave a Reply

