Leeks

Image

I lifted most of my leeks this week. Some had started to run to seed and so I have been eating some of the scapes in stir fries and omelets over the last few days. I have kept only two small rows in the ground, left there  to go to seed so I can harvest that seed ready to sow for next year’s crop.

Image

I rather like the spherical flowers of the Allium family too!

Image

It is impossible for me to use all my leeks whilst they are fresh and I need the space they take up in the garden.. ImageSo I choose to preserve some of them by freezing ( after blanching them and chilling them in cold water) and also by drying some in my dehydrator to add to soups and stews.

Image

I  trim the root end and then remove the outer leaves. This is where your kitchen gets messy!

Fresh veg from the garden means more trimming, more cleaning and the inevitable soil that clings to it ends up everywhere too.

Image

Wash the leeks well and then slice at an angle. Drop them into boiling water for 2 mins. Then lift out with a slotted spoon and drop into icy water to stop the cooking process.. Drain.. Pat some of the water off  with a clean tea towel or kitchen paper and then put in airtight tubs and stick them in the freezer.

Image

Don’t forget to label the tubs with the contents and date.

Image

5 comments on “Leeks

  1. sunny533 says:

    Reblogged this on Rv Mama's Table For One! and commented:
    I am not an onion fan by any means. My mother would have a look of horror on her face at every meal because I picked every last piece or speck of onion out of my food. Worse would be if I missed a piece & it accidentally got in my mouth… UGH! Across the table it would go followed by violent gags and my mother muttering something about me being a drama queen. Hey, I don’t like onions, all she had to do was stop putting them in my food and chewed up pieces wouldn’t land in her plate from me spitting them out.

    A few months ago I discovered leeks. Oh I’ve heard about them before but never had any interest. So while browsing my local Sprout’s market one day I decided to be bold & snag a bunch. I tested out a small (I mean SMALL) slice in something I was cooking that night and lo & behold it didn’t wilt like onions do and feel like slime in my mouth, but yet had a wonderful crunchy texture and mild oniony flavor. I was in heaven. I had found my perfect “onion”. I just bought another bunch today & chopped some up in my tuna salad.

    When I saw your post, my first reaction was “awesome, she grows leeks”. My second reaction was “How come I didn’t think of that when I was planting my garden this year??”. Thanks for the reminder, next year… leeks in the garden… happy gardening to you!

  2. […] [Edit] Here’s what my fellow blogger Ma Larkin at Tales from Riverside says about harvesting and storing leeks. […]

  3. argylesock says:

    Leeks are gorgeous! Do you make cheesy leek flan?

    Why do you save seed? Your variety must be a true-breeding one, then, not an F1. I wish you many more years of leek joy, free from the dreaded white rot (Sclerotium cepivorum).

    • Ma Larkin says:

      I save seed to have food security and to enable me to grow food for free.. I bought in my initial seed from here http://www.realseeds.co.uk/ < A great seed supplier that has some great heritage varieties, all non GM, non hybrid seeds ….and then every year after my purchase I save my own.. Details of how to save seed is also available on the website ..This variety was Meziers.

    • Ma Larkin says:

      oh and yes I love cheese and leek flan..and leeky quiches..and in buttery mash..and in omelettes and …the list goes on….

Leave a Reply

